Skip to Main Content Florida Supreme Court
Home Justices Public Information Clerk's Office Oral Arguments On-line Docket Opinions About the Court Search


Portrait Gallery

  • James C. Adkins
  • James E. Alderman
  • Thomas Baltzell
  • Rosemary Barkett
  • Rivers H. Buford
  • Fred Henry Davis
  • Thomas Douglas
  • Richard W. Ervin
  • Ossian B. Hart
  • Joseph W. Hatchett
  • Parker Lee McDonald
  • Augustus E. Maxwell
  • Stephen C. O'Connnell
  • H.L. Sebring
  • James B. Whitfield

  • Other Information
  • Current Justices
  • History of Florida Law
  • History of the Supreme Court
  • State Court System
  • Supreme Court Seal
  • Portrait Gallery
  • Architecture of the Building
  • Art in the Court
  • About the Court Home

  • Clerk's Office
  • Library
  • Marshal's Office
  • Office of Inspector General

  • Florida Supreme Court
    500 South Duval Street
    Tallahassee Florida

    Banner: Portrait Gallery

    Justice David Shelby Walker


    David Shelby Walker was born near Russellville, Logan County, Kentucky, on May 2, 1815, the son of David and Mary (Barbour) Walker.  He was educated in private schools in Kentucky and Tennessee and studied law with his elder brother, George K. Walker, who preceded him to Florida.  In 1837, he settled in Leon County.  He became a member of the first state Senate in 1845 and of the House of Representatives in 1848.  He was mayor of Tallahassee in 1852, and state registrar of public lands from 1850–1859.  In 1856, he was the unsuccessful American Party candidate for governor.  Walker was elected an associate justice of the Supreme Court in 1859, where he served until 1865.  Elected governor under the constitution of 1865, his administration was terminated in June, 1868, by the inauguration of a new constitution that year.  He returned to the private practice of law until 1879, when Governor George F. Drew appointed him judge of the Second Judicial Circuit, where he served until his death in 1891.


    All inquiries about this page: